ChatGPT checkout for Shopify: no toggle, no 4% fee

Short answer: As of October 2026 there is no ChatGPT checkout toggle in Shopify and no ChatGPT fee. Shoppers find your products in ChatGPT through Shopify Catalog and complete the purchase on your own store, in an in-app browser or a new tab. The 4% fee reported in January applied to an OpenAI checkout product that never reached Shopify merchants at scale.
Search “ChatGPT checkout Shopify” today and roughly half of what comes back is wrong. Not slightly stale. Wrong. Guides that tell you to “enable Instant Checkout” in your admin. Posts that warn you about a 4% cut. Forum threads asking where the toggle went. None of it is malicious. It’s just that this story changed three times in nine weeks at the start of 2026, and most pages were written after the first change and never touched again.
So this is the timeline, with each step pinned to the page it came from, and then what it means for a store today. We build an AI visibility app, Octolift, and we spend a lot of time reading these pages, so we’d rather lay the sources out than ask you to take our word for it.
In this post
- What ChatGPT checkout for Shopify looks like right now
- January 21: the 4% fee report
- March 12: OpenAI moves Instant Checkout to Apps
- March 24: Shopify switches ChatGPT on, with no fees
- Where direct checkout does exist
- What to actually do
- Frequently asked questions
What does ChatGPT checkout for Shopify look like right now?
Shopify’s help page for the ChatGPT channel, as it reads this month, is short and clear on the three points people get wrong. On fees: “There are no fees associated with selling in ChatGPT. You pay only your standard payment processing fees.” On where the sale happens: “ChatGPT users complete their purchase on your online store checkout in a ChatGPT in-app browser,” or in a new tab on the web. On the toggle: there isn’t one. The Agentic page in your admin has a direct checkout switch for Google AI Mode and Gemini, Microsoft Copilot and Meta. ChatGPT has no such switch, because the purchase never happens inside ChatGPT.
OpenAI’s own page for Shopify merchants says the same thing from the other side: “Shopify stores may appear to users when relevant, and users check out on the merchants’ online store.” It adds a line worth remembering the next time you think about emailing them: “OpenAI Support cannot manage your Shopify Admin, product catalog, storefront settings, order reports, or merchant policies.”
That is the whole arrangement. ChatGPT is a discovery channel. Your checkout is your checkout. Now, how did so many pages end up saying otherwise?
January 21: the 4% fee report
On January 21, 2026, PYMNTS reported, citing The Information and a Shopify spokesperson, that “the merchants using its platform will pay OpenAI a 4% fee on sales made through the ChatGPT checkout, on top of the fees charged by Shopify,” with Shopify merchants’ products due to become available through those checkout features on Monday, January 26. The same report said sales through Google’s AI Mode and Gemini and through Microsoft Copilot would carry no additional fees “for now.”
Two things about that report. First, it described OpenAI’s Instant Checkout, the product OpenAI had announced in September 2025 with Stripe, where the purchase completes inside ChatGPT and OpenAI takes a cut. Second, it was a report of a plan, not a launched feature. Both facts got lost. By the end of January, “Shopify merchants pay 4% to sell in ChatGPT” was circulating as settled, and it is still the single most repeated error in this topic.
March 12: OpenAI moves Instant Checkout to Apps
Seven weeks later the plan changed. Modern Retail reported on March 12, 2026 that OpenAI was scaling back Instant Checkout inside ChatGPT, again citing The Information, and quoted an OpenAI spokesperson directly: “Instant Checkout is moving to Apps, where purchases can happen more seamlessly.” OpenAI also clarified, per the same article, that a Shopify email’s phrase about completing purchases inside ChatGPT meant products would be discoverable there, with purchases not completed through Instant Checkout.
The Shopify email Modern Retail described said “Coming later in March: ChatGPT in Agentic Storefronts,” and that the channel would launch by default for stores, with settings adjustable in the admin. Under the updated approach, the article explained, buyers would typically complete purchases on the merchant’s own storefront, in an in-app browser on mobile or a separate tab on desktop.
So by mid March the 4% arrangement was gone before it had touched most merchants. OpenAI’s shopping help page today still says “for some eligible products and merchants, ChatGPT may also show an Instant Checkout option,” which is the Apps route, not the Shopify integration. If you are a Shopify merchant reading that line and wondering whether it applies to you: it doesn’t, unless you build a ChatGPT app.
March 24: Shopify switches ChatGPT on, with no fees
The primary source for what actually launched is Shopify’s newsroom post of March 24, 2026, “Millions of merchants can sell in AI chats.” The sentences that settle the argument:
- “Products become discoverable in ChatGPT by default via Agentic Storefronts” with “no separate integrations, no apps, and no transaction fees beyond standard processing rates.”
- “Users find products across the Shopify ecosystem through Shopify Catalog, then complete purchases via an in-app browser.” And: “On desktop, ChatGPT links out directly to the merchant’s store in a separate browser tab.”
- “Merchant customizations carry over: brand experience, pricing logic, payment methods, and checkout customizations.”
- “Orders flow into the admin with ChatGPT referral attribution, so merchants can see exactly where sales came from.”
- “Merchants remain the merchant of record, retaining ownership of customer relationships and data.”
Read those five lines together and the “toggle” question answers itself. There is nothing to switch on because there is no separate checkout. Your store’s checkout, with your discounts, your payment methods and your pixels, is the ChatGPT checkout. That also explains why the fee is zero: Shopify is not processing a new kind of transaction, it is sending a visitor to the one you already run.
The one thing you can switch is whether ChatGPT gets your catalog at all. Under Sales channels, Agentic, “Allow Shopify to manage for me” is on by default and keeps every channel’s Catalog access on. Turn it off and each channel gets its own access toggle. Switching a channel off takes up to 7 days to fully stop sharing, per Shopify’s help centre. Our Agentic Storefronts guide walks the whole page.
Where direct checkout does exist
Part of the confusion is that direct checkout inside the assistant is real, just not for ChatGPT. Shopify’s help pages describe a Shopify-powered direct checkout for Google AI Mode and Gemini, Microsoft Copilot and Meta. The Google page says “there are no fees associated with selling in Google AI Mode and Gemini’s direct checkout” beyond standard processing, that it’s on by default for eligible stores, and that only US-based customers see it (everyone else is sent to your store). It also warns that Google Analytics and custom pixels don’t fire in that checkout, only server-to-server pixels do.
So the honest table, as of October 2026:
| Channel | Where the purchase completes | Fee beyond processing | Toggle |
|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT | Your store (in-app browser or new tab) | None | Catalog access only |
| Google AI Mode and Gemini | Inside the chat if direct checkout is on, otherwise your store | None | Direct checkout on/off |
| Microsoft Copilot | Inside the chat if direct checkout is on | Not stated on the ChatGPT or Google pages; check the Copilot page | Direct checkout on/off |
| Meta (including Muse) | Inside the chat if direct checkout is on | Not stated on the ChatGPT or Google pages; check the Meta page | Direct checkout on/off |
We’ve left the Copilot and Meta fee cells deliberately cautious because we only quote pages we’ve read, and those two have their own help pages. The pattern on the two we did read is identical: no channel fee, standard processing only.
What to actually do
Nothing about checkout. Honestly. The work for ChatGPT is entirely upstream of the sale, and it’s about whether your products are in Shopify Catalog and good enough to be picked once they are. In order:
- Confirm eligibility under Sales channels, Agentic, Sources. A product count means you’re in; “Ineligible” names the reason. The ChatGPT channel also needs your store to sell to US customers and to have terms of service, privacy and return policies completed. We cover every rule in Shopify products not showing in ChatGPT.
- Open the Listing insights on your best sellers and fix the five signals Shopify grades. The walkthrough is in Shopify’s five listing quality signals for AI.
- Make sure your own checkout is in shape, because that is where the ChatGPT shopper lands. The usual conversion checklist applies; our SEO checker and AI readiness checker will flag the page level problems.
- Track the orders. They arrive with ChatGPT referral attribution in the Agentic page’s performance report, and you can mirror that in GA4 with the regex in how to track AI search traffic in GA4.
- Stop worrying about robots.txt for this channel. Shopify is explicit that crawler rules only affect open web discovery, and Catalog keeps flowing; our rubikify.com post on whether to block AI bots covers the rest of that argument.
One structural note for stores that sell colours as separate products: each one is its own catalog record and each one lands the shopper on its own page, so each needs to be complete on its own. An app that groups separate colour products into one listing with swatches keeps the storefront tidy without merging the records.
Frequently asked questions
Does Shopify or OpenAI charge a fee for ChatGPT sales?
No. Shopify’s ChatGPT help page says there are no fees associated with selling in ChatGPT beyond standard payment processing, and its March 24, 2026 launch post said “no transaction fees beyond standard processing rates.” The 4% figure came from a January 2026 report about OpenAI’s Instant Checkout, which OpenAI moved to Apps in March.
Where is the ChatGPT checkout toggle in Shopify?
There isn’t one, because ChatGPT purchases complete on your own store. The Agentic page has direct checkout switches for Google AI Mode and Gemini, Microsoft Copilot and Meta only. For ChatGPT the only control is Shopify Catalog access, under “Allow Shopify to manage for me” or the per channel toggles.
Where does a ChatGPT shopper actually pay?
On your Shopify checkout. On mobile it opens in a ChatGPT in-app browser; on desktop ChatGPT links to your store in a new tab. Your discounts, payment methods, checkout customizations and pixels all apply, and you remain the merchant of record.
How do I see which orders came from ChatGPT?
Shopify attaches ChatGPT referral attribution to those orders, and the Agentic page’s performance section shows sales, orders, sessions and conversion per AI channel (not yet for headless stores). A GA4 custom channel group with a referrer regex gives you the same view outside Shopify.
What happened to OpenAI’s Instant Checkout?
Per Modern Retail on March 12, 2026, OpenAI said “Instant Checkout is moving to Apps.” OpenAI’s shopping help page still mentions it for some eligible products and merchants, which is the ChatGPT Apps route. The Shopify integration that launched on March 24 does not use it.
Related reading
- Shopify Agentic Storefronts: the complete 2026 guide
- Shopify products not showing in ChatGPT? The fix
- How ChatGPT chooses Shopify products to recommend
- What is agentic commerce? A 2026 merchant guide
- Answer engine optimization for Shopify stores: the 2026 guide
If a page tells you to flip a ChatGPT checkout switch or budget for a 4% cut, check its date. The useful question in October 2026 is not how the sale closes, it’s whether ChatGPT names you in the first place, and you can see that for yourself in ten minutes.